After Wes Anderson, and Jonathan Glazer, it’s may now be Yorgos Lanthimos’ turn to skip the fall festivals. His “Poor Things” is said to not be ready on time for Venice, Telluride and Toronto in September. The reason why? I’m looking into it. I’ll update this article when I get a definite confirmation. This one I’m having a hard time wrapping my head around. The film finished shooting last November. That’s why it doesn’t make any sense that it won’t be ready for Venice. My source is very credible and plays a major role within a major fall film festival, so I have no reason to doubt their intel. Add in the fact that Paramount are still not sure if they will go the fall fest route with Damien Chazelle’s “Babylon” and you have a very different looking fall movie landscape. No Aster, Lanthimos, Chazelle, Anderson, Glazer … The Venice Film Festival lineup now looks very different. It’s also Alejandro Gonzalez Inarritu’s season for the taking, his “Bardo” is now the de facto most anticipated movie being premiered in September. On the American-English side, we still have Baumbach, Aronofsky, Schrader, Field, McDonagh, Polley, Zeller, Hogg and Sachs. World auteurs likely going to the Lido would include Inarritu, Panahi, Polanski, Hong, Akin, Gomes, Alonso, Crialese, Honore, Escalante and Zlotowski. Also set to skip the early fall fests, Steven Spielberg’s “The Fablemans,” Martin Scorsese’s “Killers of the Flower Moon,” Guillermo del Toro’s “Pinocchio,” David Fincher’s “The Killer” and David O. Russell’s “Amsterdam.” Contribute Hire me

Advertise Donate Team Contact Privacy Policy