The one question I keep getting via email, I suspect many of these coming from K-Stew fans, is why oh why was Larrain’s film not selected. And so it goes, without much surprise mind you, that “Spencer” was quite simply rejected by the NYFF selection committee. They didn’t like it. There is no other reason for its absence. You see, behind all those raves from the fall festivals hides a polarizing movie that even yours truly despised with every fiber of his being. “Spencer” makes a mockery out of Princess Diana’s tragic life, it oozes with inauthentic feeling and I have no doubt in my mind that people will eventually come to their senses and see the ultra-stylized shallowness of the whole thing. Okay, I’m done. Sorry for the lengthy vent. “Spencer” got rejected. Case closed. Good luck with that Best Picture nomination, NEON. Contribute Hire me

Advertise Donate Team Contact Privacy Policy