Arcade said in a statement: “The book is a candid and comprehensive personal account by Woody Allen of his life, ranging from his childhood in Brooklyn through his acclaimed career in film, theater, television, print and standup comedy, as well as exploring his relationships with family and friends.” According to the AP, in the book, Allen accuses ex-wife Mia Farrow of an “Ahab-like quest” for revenge against him. Allen writes, “I never laid a finger on Dylan, never did anything to her that could be even misconstrued as abusing her; it was a total fabrication from start to finish.” In the postscript, Allen compares himself to literary greats who too were shunned by their own countrymen and were forced to go into exile to continue their art in other countries, Allen says his downfall “plays into my poetic fantasies to be an artist whose work isn’t seen in his own country and is forced, because of injustice, to have his public abroad. Henry Miller comes to mind. D.H. Lawrence. James Joyce. I see myself standing amongst them defiantly. It’s about at that point my wife wakes me up and says, ‘You’re snoring.’” Jeannette Seaver, the editor of Arcade Publishing, defended the release of Allen’s memoir in a scathing statement: I can’t say I disagree. Contribute Hire me

Advertise Donate Team Contact Privacy Policy