As mentioned, Woody’s relationship with Engelhardt inspired  Mariel Hemingway‘s character Tracy in “Manhattan.” Of note, Woody biographers also claim Stacey Nelkin, who hooked up with Woody when she was a Stuyvesant High School student in ’77, was the other inspiration. Notice that neither she nor Nelkin have ever characterized their hookups with Allen as anything less than consensual.  So what gives? Given the context that this relationship with Engelhardt started in the ’70s, which had a whole different set of rules when it came to wrongs and rights in relationships, the notion that you can apply this story in a #MeToo context is a little bewildering and far-reaching. Not to say that Baum does that, but the Twitter hounds have been doing it all day since this story broke by categorizing Woody as a manipulative, privileged, white male that tried to use his fame to snag these women. Engelhardt, on page at least, starts to realize that she needs to say something and refuses to adhere to the witch hunters, “I’m not attacking Woody,” she tells Baum. “This is not ‘bring down this man.’ I’m talking about my love story. This made me who I am. I have no regrets.” Contribute Hire me

Advertise Donate Team Contact Privacy Policy