I can’t really say I know too many people who are amped up for this new film by Peele. What I will say is that he has a semi-decent following who will go watch anything he does, even though they might have been let down by “Us” (which I really liked on second viewing). The real pull of Peele is still “From the Writer-Director of “Get Out” and that is good enough reason for plenty of moviegoers to go out and buy a ticket to “Nope.” What I can reveal about “Nope,” based on a few test reactions gathered around a month ago, is that it is a UFO movie in the same vein as “Signs,” but with a little more humor. The style also seems to be very much Peele’s — check out those great close-up shots. It helps that he has an entire industry apparatus, the full machine, backing him up and funding whatever project he wants to do next. He’s basically turned into a more socially conscious millennial-supported version of Shyamalan. I put “Nope” as my most anticipated Summer movie back in very late March, due to a divergent of things, but including the fact that this year’s summer movie crop is very weak. “Elvis” was seen at Cannes and it is above average when you compare it to the other blockbusters we’ve been getting. What’s left to save this sadsack movie season is “Bullet Train,” “Thor: Love and Thunder,” “Lightyear,” and “The Black Phone” (very good!). Back to “Nope,” this trailer does make me wonder if it will be a hit. The worst thing that could happen to this movie is not necessarily mixed reviews, but tepid box-office numbers. I have no doubt in my mind that critics will support it, but will audiences? We’ll have answers when it is released on July 22nd. According to the few people who have seen it, “Nope” is a bigger budgeted popcorn version of “Signs,” with sprinkles of “Twister” and an emphasis on chasing UFOs. Popcorn fun. There are no big allegories. Maybe you can read into the themes of how you can avoid UFO death? The Xenophobia that comes with the unknown? Otherwise, it’s pretty straightforward. A description of the entire movie was also leaked on Twitter. I haven’t read it. Contribute Hire me

Advertise Donate Team Contact Privacy Policy