“This is the beginning of something new in the cinema,” Lee told a crowd. “It’s so exciting. There seems to be a new world in movie land.” “I think [advances in] physical production will allow us to see that world,” he continued, saying, “I don’t just want to see [movie images]; I want to experience them. That’s a dream I’ve been pursuing since “Life of Pi.” It’s been eight years.” Lee acknowledged that Hollywood was just starting to understand the potential of digital cinema. “I want other filmmakers to participate and help [show this potential to audiences]," Lee said. “It’s a different mindset and you have to create something new for it. I won’t teach anybody because I’m a novice myself, but I promise I will share whatever the pain or any experience that I’ve been through. Anything I know, I want people to use it. I want to share it.” Lee has all but given up on the subtle cinema that he used to make in Mandarin and English back in the ‘90s and ‘00s. After all, the writer-director has probably done enough for the movie world to warrant this path to more tech-heavy filmmaking. He’s made landmarks such as “Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon” and “Brokeback Mountain.” He’d rather now focus on advancing the medium in more visually-minded ways. Fair enough. That seems to be the same path James Cameron has been going into with his “Avatar” sequels, which are said to be in 3D but without the need to put on glasses. Contribute Hire me

Advertise Donate Team Contact Privacy Policy