I see “Linoleum” is getting some praise (not really deserved). “X” had a lot of buzz, but it’s really just an entertaining-as-it-goes slasher flick. Meanwhile, top prize winner “I Love My Dad” may be the most cringe-inducing movie I’ve seen in years. Safe for the big studio world premieres, SXSW tends to show films with mid-range to low production values. Nothing wrong with that, plenty of great filmmakers started off making these sorta films. SXSW has also kickstarted the careers of a handful of prominent directors. However, it’s always been, to my eyes at least, the festival that would screen films that just weren’t good enough for Sundance. I have seen around a dozen films from this year’s Austin-based festival. None particularly stand out as “great.” The one competition title many seem to be raving about is the familiar alcoholism drama “To Leslie,” starring Andrea Riseborough.
Based on a viral true story, Leslie actually won $169,000 in the lottery before wasting it all on irresponsible expenses, Michael Morris’ drama seeks deeper emotions than its pedestrian screenplay can afford to produce. Despite a strong first half, the film gets bogged down by the appearance of Podcaster Marc Maron as Leslie’s saviour/love interest. I’ll have much more to say about the other stuff I screened when they eventually get released, but, far and away, the best film I saw from SXSW 2022 is Richard Linklater’s “Apollo 10 1/2.” It’s not even close. Theres a reason why I stopped attending SXSW a few years ago, the movies just aren’t worth the trek. You go for the vibes of beautiful Austin, the wonderful people and the marvelous food. Contribute Hire me

Advertise Donate Team Contact Privacy Policy