Not much of the conversation has leaked except for a quick segment where Spielberg talks about how David Lynch became John Ford. The story goes that ‘Fabelmans’ screenwriter Tony Kushner’s husband Mark Harris recommended David Lynch, but it took some convincing on the part of Laura Dern to get the director to take on the role. [via Tomris Laffly] Spielberg said, “[Lynch] says, ‘I decided I am going to do this under one condition.’ I said, ‘What’s that?’ [He said], ‘I want to get the costume two weeks ahead of time to live in for two weeks. I want to break down the costume.’ I said, ‘You mean you are going to wear it?’ He said, ‘Yes, every day. Every day. The patch, the hat, everything else. Send it to me.’ And he showed up in a pretty ratty costume. But it was the way John Ford was.” It’s interesting to note that Spielberg mentioned Lynch was busy with a few projects he wanted to pursue, which is the reason he initially declined. The full talk will be published on the DGA’s YouTube channel (hopefully soon). Contribute Hire me

Advertise Donate Team Contact Privacy Policy