“On the Rocks” marks the first time Coppola and Murray have collaborated since their acclaimed 2003 film, “Lost in Translation.” In a new interview with EW, Coppola spoke about the upcoming film, her first since 2017’s “The Beguiled” and why it took so long for her to reunite with Murray on a new project: “I never thought I could do something with Bill again, because people have such a fondness of him and ‘Lost in Translation,’” she explained. “I could never recreate something like that, so I never wanted to touch it. But, all this time has passed, and I loved working with him and I love seeing him in film. We haven’t really seen him as this debonair, playboy father at this stage [of life], so I just had to get over it because now we’re in a different phase [of life].” Murray and Jones play father and daughter, she’s married to Marlon Wayans, a successful businessman who consistently travels and has a beautiful assistant. Murray’s dad, a sophisticated playboy type, gets Jones paranoid that her husband may be cheating. Together, they go on a little spying adventure in New York City over martinis and small talk. “On the Rocks,” is set to debut in theaters and Apple TV+, courtesy of A24 and Apple Original Films, in October. Contribute Hire me

Advertise Donate Team Contact Privacy Policy