2001: A Space Odyssey (Kubrick)8 1/2 (Fellini) Ashes and Diamonds (Wajda)Citizen Kane (Wells)Diary of a Country Priest (Bresson)Ikiru (Kurosawa)The Leopard (Visconti)Ordet (Dreyer)Paisa (Rossellini)The Red Shoes (Powell & Pressburger)The River (Renoir)Salvatore Giuliano (Rosi)The Searchers (Ford)Ugetsu (Mizoguchi)Vertigo (Hitchcock) Out of the fifteen films he chose — no female director? no black director? How dare you Martin Scorsese! Don’t you know that the times have changed? GET WITH THE PROGRAM, OLD MAN! In all seriousness, Scorsese recently mentioned in a Chicago-set conversation with Jeffrey Katzenberg that his favourite all-time film was Powell & Pressburger’s “The Red Shoes.” A fabulously dreamy film. I also love the inclusions of “Ordet” and “Ugetsu,” two of the most haunting movies I’ve ever seen. I’m not 100% sure when S&S will be releasing all of the individual ballots, but that’ll be a real treat when it does happen. Although, I’m hearing in January both the top 250 and the individual ballots will be online. I’ll have a physical issue of the magazine in my hands next week, so I’ll try to publish as much as I can on this site. Contribute Hire me

Advertise Donate Team Contact Privacy Policy