So, fine, Tarantino has reiterated the fact that he wants to end his career at 10 movies. I have, justifiably, prayed that he wouldn’t end it with his R-rated Star Trek movie, a passion project which seems to have started a few years back. Just to recap: Tarantino had pitched an idea to ‘Trek’ producer J.J. Abrams about an R-rated ‘Star Trek’ movie. This set off Abrams into sending scribe Mark L. Smith (“The Revenant,” “Overlord”) down QT’s way so that they could collaborate and share ideas, which they have been doing ever since. Well, good news, QT isn’t doing it anymore: Tarantino has also hinted at potentially directing a horror movie, but, surprisingly, he says that Rob Zombie’s “Halloween” films have given him some solace in the fact that he didn’t end up making his own slasher film because Zombie did it so well. He continued, “I mean to such a degree there was a moment when I was writing and went, ‘Should I do this now? Should I do something else? Is this the 10th one?’ No, no don’t stop the planets from aligning, what are you, Galactus? If the Earth is saying do it, do it. Not that it was an argument, but a little thought, like, ‘Well, if I’m gonna go out like Max Ophüls style, Lola Montez, this is it, and if It’s not good, then all my other work is trash, alright.’ This would have been the one. But in a weird way, it actually kind of freed me up. I mean, I have no idea what the story of the next one’s going to be. I don’t even have a clue.” This whole notion of retiring after 10 movies comes from the director’s theory that a director’s quality of work only gets worse as it goes along. Tarantino wants his filmography to be perfect or, as he puts it, “without a misfire.” I know some may not agree that he hasn’t had a misfire, but I do. I even loved “Death Proof” and “The Hateful Eight.” And so, the sky’s the limit for QT as to which project he would love to end his career with. Maybe he could finally give us that Vega Brothers/Pulp Fiction spinoff which has been rumored now for the better part of two decades. Contribute Hire me

Advertise Donate Team Contact Privacy Policy