“Harriet” was directed by Kasi Lemmons. “Queen & Slim” is the feature-length debut of filmmaker Melina Matsoukas. DuVernay’s post garnered a response from “The Farewell” director Lulu Wang, who could, humorously, relate to DuVernay’s plight. “If I could count the number of times someone’s held up a ‘Crazy Rich Asians’ poster for me to sign,” the director wrote. “I mean, Jon M. Chu is beautiful and all, but I’m quite certain we look nothing alike.” Oh, white people. There aren’t many African-American filmmakers in Hollywood, and there are even fewer who are female. The marquee names are Ava Duvernay, Dee Rees, Kasi Lemmons, Judy Dash, and Gina Prince-Bythewood. Obviously, the name that stands out is Ava Duvernay’s. The 47-year-old DuVernay has directed noteworthy fare such as “Selma,” “13th” and the Emmy-Winning Mini-Series “When They See Us.” Contribute Hire me

Advertise Donate Team Contact Privacy Policy