“We called [the movie] ‘Alana and Gary’ for the longest time, but I thought I’d had my fill of two given names for titles. I’m happy with it now. It feels good. You think of titles like ‘American Graffiti.’ ‘Fast Times.’ ‘Licorice Pizza.’ Good. All right, let’s stick with that company. Those are films that I thought about so much when I was making it.”“‘Dazed and Confused,’” I offer.“‘Dazed and Confused,’” Anderson affirms. “You know what’s a great title: ‘Everybody Wants Some!!’ You like that film?”“Oh, I love that film,” I answer, because if you’ve seen this 2016 Richard Linklater comedy, you’ll probably say what Anderson is about to say: “F—, what a good film! And so underrated!”“It’s such a great hang movie, just like all those other ones you mentioned,” I say. “You know, the weird thing is, I’ve only seen it once.”“Me too!” Anderson says. “And I think about it all the time. I think about seeing it again, like once a week, ‘C’mon, it’s time to watch “Everybody Wants Some!!” again.’ I remember it being very long and this absolute slow burn and working its way to its ending. When it comes to the light touch of my contemporaries, Richard Linklater is the king.” I wrote this about Linklater’s film: Contribute Hire me

Advertise Donate Team Contact Privacy Policy