I emailed Thompson yesterday morning to point out the curious omission. As much as I disliked that film, I find it hard to believe it won’t be a contender. Was that a purposeful absence? She answered back, it turns out she decided to add it, but in the “long shots” category, adding that she’s “advocating hard for Michelle Yeoh in Best Actress”. Alright, fine, but, whether you like it or night, one has to accept that “Everything Everywhere All At Once” will be a major player, right? It’s the post-pandemic little-indie-that-could. Critics have gone gaga over it and so have audiences, it’s so far nabbed $100 million worldwide. As far as I can tell, three Best Picture contenders have been released so far this year: “Everything Everywhere All At Once,” “Top Gun: Maverick” and “Elvis.” It doesn’t mean all three get nominated, but that’s where we’re at right now. Some of the fall fest local titles I anticipate could gain some traction include Tar, Bardo, Women Talking, The Fabelmans, The Whale, The Son, Empire of Light, The Wonder, She Said and Til. Contribute Hire me

Advertise Donate Team Contact Privacy Policy