A moviegoer who saw the film at the Jersey test-screening told me the VFX looked 90% complete. I do wonder if Universal Pictures, who are distributing the film, will want to premiere ‘1917’ at this upcoming November’s AFI film festival. It would kickstart a Best Picture campaign just a few minutes away from the Kodak Theater (where the Oscars take place). As far as I’m concerned, there is no frontrunner for Best Picture; Noah Baumbach’s “Marriage Story” is the de facto leader of the board, but who are we kidding here, Baumbach’s film, despite critical acclaim, isn’t a film that the Academy’s voters will wholeheartedly embrace. It remains a Baumbach through and through. As for Martin Scorsese’s “The Irishman,” I’m about to watch it right now … But a 3 and a half hour Netflix movie will be a hard sell for unanimous acclaim. Stay tuned. Contribute Hire me

Advertise Donate Team Contact Privacy Policy