“I was in London when I heard the U.S. reviews for ‘Glass’ were poor,” Shyamalan told the NYU’s Stern School of Business at a Scholar-in-Residence lecture on April 16 [via IndieWire] “I was in a makeup chair for a TV show, and I cried.” “We’d just come back from the London screenings, which were through the roof,” he added. “We had only great screenings of the movie around the world. So essentially I wasn’t prepared. I had this false sense of being a part of the group in a safe way. But boy, did I feel distraught that day.” “Honestly, I was feeling like, ‘Will they never let me be different without throwing me on the garbage pile?’” Shyamalan said. “The feeling of worthlessness rushed me, and to be honest, it doesn’t ever really leave. But anyway, the film went on, right? It became number one in every country in the world, and it represents my beliefs.” “Glass” did make $111 million at the domestic box-office, but that fell $27 million short of the total, its predecessor, “Split” nabbed back in 2016. However, since Shyamalan self-funds all of his projects, it was another clear victory for him since Glass’ budget was just north of $20 million, which means he will, more than likely, continue to make more movies due to this +90 million net gain. Contribute Hire me

Advertise Donate Team Contact Privacy Policy