Music to my ears. I have been championing this sexy and mysterious neo-noir since I first laid eyes on it in 2016. In the original version, Tilda Swinton played Marianne, a rock star with voice problems who retreats to a high-end Sicilian villa with her boyfriend (Matthias Schoenaerts). The peace is disturbed when Marianne’s ex, music producer Harry (Ralph Fiennes), turns up with a newly discovered daughter (Dakota Johnson). The film shouldn’t be spoiled further, but just know that this was a very loose remake of the 60s classic “La Piscine” (no relation to the Ozon). Just when you think you know where it’s going, well, it goes in the complete opposite direction. Guadagnino continuously plays with your head in this film. It’s his most obvious attempt at Hitchcockian cinema. “An Even Bigger Splash” is 70 minutes longer and is supposed to be released sometime next year. I’m not entirely sure if it’ll be a theatrical thing or straight to VOD. Regardless, I’m sold. Contribute Hire me

Advertise Donate Team Contact Privacy Policy