I’ve received a few messages about starting another early predictions list for Cannes 2023. I mean, it’s really too early, Venice hasn’t even announced this year’s lineup, who knows if Malick or Lanthimos show up etc. With that being said, I’ve been seeing some big name directors, Cannes regulars, starting to shoot new works these last few weeks and months, with what I would assume is the intent of premiering them at Cannes.
For example, Variety reported today that Aki Kaurismäki will be coming out of his semi-retirement and making a new film, said to be due out in 2023. You can add him to the below directors, my early bets for Cannes 2023; Anderson, Allen, Aster, Malick, Glazer, Lanthimos, Rohrwacher, Ceylan, Campillo, Sissako, Triet, Bonello, Garrone, Loach, Maiwenn, Moretti, Audiard, Nichols, Kaurismaki and Franco. Contribute Hire me

Advertise Donate Team Contact Privacy Policy