Back in May, I had posted a screening reaction for Peele’s film. The viewer said the film was a “bigger budgeted popcorn version of “Signs,” with sprinkles of “Twister” and an emphasis on chasing UFOs. Popcorn fun. There are no big allegories. Maybe you can read into the themes of how you can avoid UFO death? The Xenophobia that comes with the unknown?” The social media embargo is said to be lifting on Monday evening. More peculiarly, the review embargo won’t be lifted until Wednesday evening, and then the next day Thursday previews start. So that’s basically 24 hours between reviews dropping and the film starting to screen. What is going on here? Like most critics, I’m set to watch “Nope” early next week. It’s currently tracking at a $45-$65 million opening weekend — I think that’s being too kind. I would not be surprised if the film turns out to be a dud, but critics still end up supporting “Nope.” With that being said, I’m a Peele fan, I love his compositions, the mood he creates in his films and the exquisite comedic timing in them. However, contrary to what some critics may think, he’s not the second-coming of cinema. He’s bound to make a bomb. “Nope” could be it. Contribute Hire me

Advertise Donate Team Contact Privacy Policy