“It plays a weird sleight of hand [in which] it transcends the horror of itself. It is an ascension of horror. I didn’t feel victimized; I felt like I was being put up on this pedestal and honored through the eyes of the protagonist. It’s a very unique feeling for a film to conjure because after it ended, I found myself looking back at the final act like, ‘Holy shit.’ That was some of the most atrociously disturbing imagery I’ve ever seen on film, and yet I experienced it with this open-mouthed, wild-eyed gape. I think that part of how we get there is never reducing the villains to any kind of snarling monsters with an evil agenda.” Woah there, Jordan. Yes, “Hereditary” was something to behold and announced Aster as a major new young talent behind the camera, but why must Peele be overtly exuberant about it like this? It’s usually a major no-no to do such a thing before a director’s movie comes out, a stroke of bad luck if you will. Regardless, Joe Stemme, a Facebook friend of mine, hinted over at the HE comments that we should, maybe, tamper down our expectations down a notch for Aster’s upcoming movie, which I will, of course, politely not do so. “Hereditary” was just too good. Stemme: “I know one person who’s seen MIDSOMMAR (they were involved in the making; in a major way). I mentioned the similarity of the trailer to THE WICKER MAN. They cofirmed the similarity and added, “Oh, yeah, very much….but, not as good as THE WICKER MAN”. A24, is releasing “Midsommar” on July 3rd Contribute Hire me

Advertise Donate Team Contact Privacy Policy