Case in point; Jessica Chastain. The “Zero Dark Thirty” actress recently took to social media to praise Phoenix’s work as Arthur Fleck: “It’s one of the greatest pieces of acting that I’ve ever seen” She said, adding “My mouth was dropped open in the theatre as it played. It left me shook.” I agree with Chastain. So much so that in a recent podcast I did with Hollywood-Elsewhere’s Jeffrey Wells, I acknowledged my belief that the Best Actor Oscar in 2020 will be Phoenix’s to lose. I just can’t see his closest competitor, Marriage Story’s “Adam Driver, dethroning Phoenix. Op-Ed: ‘Joker’ is Not the Problem, the Media Is — World of Reel I started off my review of “Joker” (dated 10.02.19): “I tend to stay away from calling a movie or performance the best of any given year, especially when there is still time to go before we reach December 31st. However, I doubt we will be graced with a better performance than Joaquin Phoenix’s Arthur Fleck in “Joker.” Despite all that we’ve heard about this role, I did not expect the masterful work that Phoenix does here. This performance confirms the 44-year-old actor as the best actor of his generation, and you can add it alongside his other pantheon-worthy work in “The Master,” “Two Lovers,” and “Her”. Contribute Hire me

Advertise Donate Team Contact Privacy Policy