There are plenty of “The Power of the Dog” haters out there, but I find the hate for Campion ridiculous. Her camera placement in the film was genius. It’s very much a “director’s movie” through and through, and Campion carries it with her strong visuals. Her sense of composition could not be matched by the four other nominees and their respective films, maybe with the exception of Paul Thomas Anderson. With that being said, the Best Director Oscar is now Campion’s to lose, unless Ryusuke Hamaguchi pulls off a shocking win for “Drive My Car.” Hey, you never know, a few very brave pundits are predicting a Hamaguchi Oscar surprise. It was also a great night for Maggie Gyllenhaal whose “The Lost Daughter” won her Best First Film. And yet, she couldn’t help but name-check Campion in her acceptance speech: “Listen I’ve seen so many incredible movies made by men. I grew up learning that language, your language,” said Gyllenhaal. “Until I was 15 years old, and I walked into the movies and saw The Piano. I had never seen anything like that. It changed me.” Next stop, the Producers Guild of America which will be much more unpredictable than the DGA. “The Power of the Dog” is the Frontrunner, and “CODA” has the momentum right now, but watch out for “King Richard.” Contribute Hire me

Advertise Donate Team Contact Privacy Policy