“[The William Lindsay Gresham] book was given to me in 1992 by Ron Perlman, before I saw the Tyrone Power movie, and I loved the book. My adaptation that I’ve done with [co-writer] Kim Morgan is not necessarily…the entire book is impossible, it’s a saga. But there are elements that are darker in the book, and it’s the first chance I have…in my short films I wanted to do noir. It was horror and noir. And now is the first chance I have to do a real underbelly of society type of movie. [There are] no supernatural elements. Just a straight, really dark story.” Last week I wrote: Guillermo del Toro hasn’t made a movie since 2017’s Oscar-winning “The Shape of Water.” He currently has a live-action “Pinnochio” in-store for Netflix, but before that long-delayed passion project comes to fruition, del Toro is readying a remake of the 1940’s film noir “Nightmare Alley.” According to Collider, Cate Blanchett, Bradley Cooper, Toni Collette, Rooney Mara, Willem Dafoe, Michael Shannon, Richard Jenkins, Ron Perlman, and Mark Povinelli are all being looked at to star in del Toro’s period film. Synopsis for “Nightmare Alley” [via Collider] Contribute Hire me

Advertise Donate Team Contact Privacy Policy