Now Hackman, 91-years-old, is living somewhere in New Mexico, and riding his bike daily. I don’t believe ‘Mooseport’ was the direct reason that led to his retirement, but let the conspiracy theories begin. I’m mentioning Hackman because he just gave his first interview in over a decade to the New York Post, this in relation to the 50th anniversary of “The French Connection.” His retirement isn’t mentioned, but the best tidbit I got out of the interview was how Hackman hasn’t seen the 1972 classic since “the first screening in a dark, tiny viewing room in a post-production company’s facility 50 years ago.” The essential works in Hackman’s filmography are “Bonnie and Clyde,” “The French Connection,” “The Conversation,” “Night Moves,” “Superman II,” “Hoosiers,” “Mississippi Burning,” “Unforgiven,” “Get Shorty,” and “The Royal Tenebaums.” He’s one of the giants. I might have to watch one of these tonight to get my Hackman fix. Contribute Hire me

Advertise Donate Team Contact Privacy Policy