This morning, I received this message from a veteran film critic who attended Telluride: Let me just start off by saying that I don’t believe this year’s mediocre Telluride lineup had anything to do with Julie Huntsinger or her team. The real problem I’m starting to notice is the lack of great “Oscar-bait” movies at Venice, which means Telluride probably had a hard time sifting through and finding worthy stuff for their own lineup. The only major film Telluride might have missed out on so far is McDonagh’s “The Banshees of Inisherin,” which is turning into a major across-the-board player for Picture, screenplay and Colin Farrell. Then again, Huntsinger didn’t select McDonagh’s ‘Three Billboards’ either in 2017, so maybe she’s just not a fan of his work. Notice the NYFF absence as well. Other than that? I’m hearing good things about “Saint Omer,” but reviews haven’t dropped yet. Joanna Hogg’s “The Eternal Daughter” is supposed to have its embargo lift this morning, but a friend plainly texted me his reaction yesterday by saying: “It’s a Joanna Hogg movie.” Take that for whatever it’s worth. Telluride did the best they could with whatever they were presented with. As for “Women Talking,” I’ll be watching that one on Thursday. Maybe T-Ride attendees were just so hungry for a standout that they went fully on-board with Sarah Polley’s movie? You have no idea how many people have told me the critical acclaim Polley’s film has gotten is unwarranted and that it’ll have a hard time finding Oscar traction. However, if its 90 MC score continues to stay on that level after screening at TIFF, then we probably do need to view it as a contender. Again, narratives are a big part of Oscar recognition and “Women Talking” definitely has that going for it. As for “Empire of Light,” I have it as my #11 right now in my predictions. Reviews will probably be better at TIFF, and many people seem to genuinely like that movie. The high-brows can’t stand it, but when has that ever stopped the academy from nominating this kind of movie? Contribute Hire me

Advertise Donate Team Contact Privacy Policy