The 2021 Cannes Film Festival’s originally planned slot of May 11-22 slot is being delayed to July 6-17. Organizers cited the global health situation in announcing the decision. This will nevertheless be a very challenging set goal to attain. I presume, if it does happen, it will in reduced form. Maybe even an added online component could occur? Travel restrictions could also be a problem as there is currently a European travel ban in effect in the United States. If the virus cases do not go down by summer then a cancellation could still happen. My personal opinion? I can’t see Cannes happening in the summer. I will be applying for my accreditation, hoping and praying that we get to meet at the croisette this year, but even the Olympic committee is worried about holding their event in July. Cannes supposedly brings in 40,000 people every year. The odds are not n Thierry Fremaux’s favor. I say, push it to October. Contribute Hire me

Advertise Donate Team Contact Privacy Policy