Speaking to The Guardian, DuVernay was promoting her upcoming Netflix limited series “When They See Us,” but ended up also showing her discontent towards the lack of offers she’s been getting in directing genre films — DuVernay says she is often approached about films dealing with historical events and Black people, but not genre. “I don’t get offered a lot, and what I do get offered is usually historical or something to do with women and black people,” the filmmaker said. “Like, I’m not getting ‘John Wick 3,’ even though I’d love to make it.” She continued, “I have a good friend who directed second unit on ‘Star Wars’ and is kicking ass. I have a friend who’s on ‘Westworld’ right now. Are there enough of us? No. Certainly not for a lack of women being interested in or capable.” Ava, what do you call your last film, the Disney movie “A Wrinkle In Time?” You were given a film that cost over $100 million to make and it ended up losing millions and was one of the worst reviewed films by critics and audiences alike that year. Usually after a bomb like that, many directors don’t get the kind of second chances you’ve been getting. “When They See Us,” which looks very good, arrives on Netflix on May 31. Contribute Hire me

Advertise Donate Team Contact Privacy Policy