“I get so petrified in this space talking about equal pay especially when you look at the intersectional aspect of it, right? Where white women get paid more than black women, black women get paid more than Asian women, Asian women get paid more than Latina women, and it’s like a very scary space to step into,” Rodriguez said. “Because I always feel like I fail when I speak about it because I can’t help but feel already so gracious to do what I do and I feel like, culturally, I feel like I was raised to just feel so appreciative of getting here.” TV critic Rebecca Theodore-Vachon then blasted Rodriguez on Twitter,  writing, “regarding Gina Rodriguez saying Black actresses are paid more than Latinx actresses – Sofia Vergera is the highest paid according to Forbes ($42 .5mil). Kerry Washington is the only Black actress on this list at #8.”  The National Partnership for Women & Families has stated that White women make 77 cents for every dollar that white men make, whereas Asian women make 85 cents, black women make 61 cents, Native American women make 58 cents, and Latinas make 53 cents. So, Rodriguez isn’t totally off in her assertions. Contribute Hire me

Advertise Donate Team Contact Privacy Policy