I have not seen De Palma’s latest critical bomb “Domino” (31% on RT) but I am a completist and I intend to give it a fair shot in the coming week. I do hope millennials know that there is more to De Palma than just the infamous stinkers he’s given us in the aughts and twenty-teens (“Passion,” “The Black Dahlia,” “Redacted,” “Femme Fatale” and “Mission To Mars.”) His last five movies also happen to be the five worst of his career (“Bonfire of the Vanities” notwithstanding.) Regardless, the De Palma I will always remember is the man that was on such a roll, between 1976-1993, that you might say his winning streak was as almost as good as that of Scorsese’s or Woody’s during that same time-period. He’s a time-capsule worthy director for the sheer fact that he is responsible for directing, in no particular order: “Blow Out,” “Carrie,” “Dressed To Kill,” “Scarface,” “The Untouchables,” “Carlito’s Way,” “Body Double,” “Mission: Impossible” and “Casualties of War.” Contribute Hire me

Advertise Donate Team Contact Privacy Policy