“Women Talking” is coming off a triumphant world premiere at Telluride, where Polley and its lead actresses were toasted to, what was supposed to be, Oscar glory. Now, I’m not too sure about that. “Women Talking” has screened twice for press so far here in Toronto and the enthusiasm is completely FLAT. It also went from having a pristine 90 on Metacritic to a 78 MC score. Polley’s film is having its official TIFF World premiere tomorrow evening, but most of the press will have left town by then. So, it’s been seen by those who wanted to see it and now the remaining critics who haven’t will have to wait until it’s December release date. The film surely still have its fair share of admirers, but I raised the alarm bells on this overpraised film last week, when I caught a press screening of it. I wrote, “[it’s] a miserablist tale with no nuance or sophistication. It all amounts to one large stagey screed on female empowerment. I can dig this kind of movie, if done right. Sadly, “Women Talking” is not done right.” Contribute Hire me

Advertise Donate Team Contact Privacy Policy