The latest superhero creative irked by Scorsese’s comments is Damon Lindelof, creator of HBO’s upcoming superhero drama “Watchmen.” Speaking to Variety at the “Watchmen” world premiere, Lindelof said Scorsese was rather misguided in comparing Marvel movies to “theme parks.” “There’s a space in Marvel movies that they are beginning to explore and are beginning to be provocative and interesting. ‘Logan’ or ‘Black Panther’ are very close in my opinion to cinema and to put all Marvel movies in the same box doesn’t seem fair.” “I’m just curious as to how many Marvel movies he has seen,” Lindelof added. “I don’t view it as a put down. I think there has to be space for popular entertainment and indie fare and cinema.” The original Scorsese quote stemmed from a recent interview the director did with Empire magazine. “I don’t see [Marvel movies],” Scorsese said, “I tried, you know? But that’s not cinema… It isn’t the cinema of human beings trying to convey emotional, psychological experiences to another human being.” Contribute Hire me

Advertise Donate Team Contact Privacy Policy