According to the actress, she understands why producer Jerry Bruckheimer didn’t approach her, saying, “I’m old, and I’m fat, and I look age-appropriate for what my age is. And that is not what that whole scene is about.“The female lead role in Maverick went instead to Jennifer Connelly, who is playing a completely new character. When asked about what she thought of Connelly being cast in the sequel, McGillis replied that she does not know the actress but is “so glad that she got that opportunity.” One must wonder if they could have at least offered McGillis a cameo. It’s not like McGillis retired from acting either. Based on her IMDB filmography, she’s been very busy at work in both TV and movies. She quite clearly wasn’t the right fit for the eye candy they were looking for in this much-anticipated sequel. It goes to show that, for all the “body positive” virtue signaling that the industry keeps touting, McGillis is a clear victim of body shaming non-casting (yes, I just invented that term). I for one think it would be hilarious if today’s Gillis were to meet up with Cruise in the sequel and talk about old times. C’mon Bruckheimer, why didn’t you think of that? Contribute Hire me

Advertise Donate Team Contact Privacy Policy