Best Director: Josh and Benny Safdie, “Uncut Gems”

Not many more deserving of the prize than these two guys. Maybe Scorsese, but he’ll just have to settle for the Best Picture.prize.

Best Screenplay: Quentin Tarantino, “Once Upon A Time in Hollywood”

A pleasant surprise. Although many were predicting Baumbach for this category, I can’t help but think that maybe, just maybe, the NYFCC voting body knows that Baumbach will either win director or picture in the next few minutes.

Best Actress: Lupita Nyong’o, “Us”

Well, this pick should rile up a few folks out there. I mean, seriously?! Lupita?! Words aren’t enough to describe how NYFCC believes this performance is better than, say, Zellweger’s in “Judy.” Then again, it’s been a very weak year for strong female performances.

Best Actor: Antonio Banderas, “Pain and Glory”

Well deserved. I still haven’t decided which performance I like better between Banderas, Phoenix (“Joker”), De Niro (“The Irishman”) and Adam Sandler (“Uncut Gems”). Roll the dice, but all three deserve Oscar recognition.

Best Supporting Actress: Laura Dern, “Marriage Story” and “Little Women”

Dern deserves it for “Marriage Story.” She has an inconsequential role as Mamee in “Gerwig’s picture, but it’s really in ‘Marriage’ where she shines. I’m not the biggest fan of Baumbach’s movie but the supporting acting is PHENOMENAL in that film.

Best Supporting Actor: Joe Pesci, “The Irishman”

Uh, what?! You had the choice between Pitt or Pacino, two towering performances, and you decide to go with the subtler role. Pesci was very good, but it’s only the third-best performance in “The Irishman.”

Best First Film: “Atlantics”

I liked “Atlantics” (you can read my interview with its director Mati Diop). I just did some research to find all the first-timer debuts this year and, yikes, not many noteworthy ones. It was basically between Atlantics and “Booksmart.” NYFCC made the right decision.

Best Foreign Language Film: “Parasite”

Could there be any other film? I slightly prefer “Pain and Glory” but “Parasite” is a phenomenon none of us saw coming when it premiered at Cannes in May. Other foreign-language films that could have won include “Portrait of a Lady on Fire” and “Ash is Purest White.”

Best Non-Fiction Film: Honeyland

Stunning doc. I am looking forward to watching it again in the near future. I would have however given the top prize to “Midnight Family,” “David Crosby: Remember My Name,” and “American Dharma.”

Best Animated Feature: I Lost My Body

And it’s not even close. Another worthy winner. No other animated movie came close to achieving what Jeremy Clapin’s original film did. I’m also glad the NYFCC had the common sense to not reward the overrated “Toy Story 4” the prize.

Best Cinematography: Portrait of a Lady on Fire

A surprise. ‘Portrait’ for cinematography is something I didn’t expect, but very deserving nonetheless. Almost every frame in that film is like a painting. Deakins snubbed which, more or less, confirms what I said earlier in the month: There is no chance in hell NYFCC falls for “1917,” not their kind of movie. Contribute Hire me

Advertise Donate Team Contact Privacy Policy