“When I saw the movie, initially I thought it would antithetical to the character for me to campaign,” he said. “But these people were a joy to work with. The movie came out in July and it didn’t get any love from the film festivals. [Cannes head] Thierry Fremaux said no, so I was like, ‘Let’s give this movie a little bit of attention so people may discover it because I think it’s worthy of that.’” In the spring of 2021 I had been told that there was a very good chance that “Pig” would be at Cannes, possibly as an out-of-competition is entry. When the lineup was finally revealed and “Pig” was nowhere to be found I was somewhat surprised. I’m not the biggest fan of Michael Sarnoski’s film, but it was very well-reviewed back in the summer of 2021. It also ended up on 162 critics top 10 lists, making it the 7th most listed film of the past year. Contribute Hire me

Advertise Donate Team Contact Privacy Policy