From what I’ve gathered, based on the two people I’ve spoken to, ‘Gucci’ very much aims for a serious tone, there is no fun in the film, it doesn’t go for campiness whatsoever, the camp we see in the trailer is purely unintentional. Figures, since this is a fairly serious true story about greed, vengeance and murder. A critic told me Jared Leto stole the show from the rest of the cast (“he seems to be the only actor who is self-aware of the camp”) and that Gaga is quite good, but the film is a mess filled with EXCESS. Call it Wolf of Wall Street-lite. “House of Gucci” has a press junket coming up in the coming week. More reactions will surely leak. I am not scheduled to see it for now. The film is being released on November 24th. UPDATE: a third person who’s seen it emailed me saying “Wrong! The people you’ve spoken to are dead wrong. I had a blast watching “House of Gucci,” Scott aims for a home run but gets a triple. Gaga is so invested in the thing and Leto had me cackling non-stop.” Contribute Hire me

Advertise Donate Team Contact Privacy Policy