Rian Johnson’s critically-acclaimed “Knives Out” sequel will open from November 23-29 in more than 600 cinemas. It’s basically a one-week sneak preview before the film starts streaming a month later on December 23rd. That’s astounding for a Netflix original film and don’t be surprised if there’s an additional agreement to extend the theatrical run for a few more weeks. Netflix is going full-bore here with “Glass Onion.” They know they have a major hit in their hands. The film is also their only big Best Picture contender this year. This news can also, most definitely, be seen as a momentum boost for the film’s Oscar chances.
I had a blast watching the film at TIFF a few weeks ago. It’s such a movie-movie, all it wants to do is entertain you and the filmmaking is slickly rendered by Johnson. The more I think about it and the more I prefer this one to the original. Back in August, I way ahead of everyone else in terms of this film’s Oscar potential and the planned theatrical run. I had been tipped that it was Netflix’s top priority even before “Bardo,” “White Noise” and all the others were seen. Here’s what I wrote. “I was told a couple of months ago that Netflix was prioritizing “Glass Onion: A Knives Out Mystery” over any other title they have this fall, and for good reason.” “In fact, the “Knives Out” sequel has been dated as being available on the streaming platform December 23rd. I’m told a late November release in theaters is being planned. That’s practically a month before it is available for free on Netflix.“ Contribute Hire me

Advertise Donate Team Contact Privacy Policy