What is wrong with film critics? How juvenile must you be to like a film as infantile and simple-minded as ‘Everything Everywhere’? I know we have some readers who like this movie, but how exactly is it one of the best movies released this year? I feel like I’m living on another planet. The higher brows over at Film Comment, Slant, Cahiers and Screen Slate don’t like the movie, but, still, to have mainstream film criticism bow down and drool all over EEAO has been one of the most puzzling things I’ve seen. Back to the Critics Choice nominees, this year’s list of Best Picture contenders includes “Babylon,” “The Banshees of Inisherin,” “Elvis,” “Tár,” “Avatar: The Way of Water,” “Glass Onion: A Knives Out Mystery,” “Top Gun: Maverick,” “Women Talking,” and “RRR.” Contribute Hire me

Advertise Donate Team Contact Privacy Policy