Poirot is again played by Oscar nominee Kenneth Branagh and screenwriter Michael Green is back again for another jaunt in Agatha Christie’s world of whodunnits. Add in a brand spanking new cast of actors, the likes of Gal Gadot, Armie Hammer, Russell Brand, Annette Bening, and Sophie Okonedo, and et voila, another guaranteed success for 20th Century Studios come opening day (October 23rd). Will I be first in line for this? You bet your ass I won’t. Don’t get me wrong, “Murder on the Orient Express” was a beautifully shot movie. Lush visuals, a stacked cast of great performers, however, I never really warmed up to Branagh’s Poirot and that was a big deal for me as I very much thought Albert Finney was a hoot playing him in Sidney Lumet’s more-than-decent 1974 version. I have a soft spot for Peter Ustinov’s turn in the role as well — I found both those Poirots to be far more charming than Branagh’s. Regardless, the trailer for “Death on the Nile” is out (below) and it looks like it could be a hoot. Contribute Hire me

Advertise Donate Team Contact Privacy Policy