I can’t say I remember much about the generic plot or characters, but the 3D did blow me away back in 2009. It’s still the best use of 3D technology that I’ve ever seen. “Avatar” was a total experience and had to be seen in a movie theatre. All of this to say that ”Avatar” brought in a very nice $10 million to its already record breaking box office numbers. This is the perfect lead-up to the December release of the much anticipated sequel, “Avatar: The Way of Water.” “Avatar” also earned $30 million worldwide this weekend, which is more than what “Don’t Worry Darling” amassed. Whoever doubted the upcoming sequels, myself included, I think we can safely say that there is still clearly a fanbase for them. In fact, pundits are already wondering which of the two late-year blockbusters might get Best Picture nominated: ‘The Way of the Water’ or ‘Wakanda Forever.’ Why can’t both? It’s been a weak year for Oscar bait and the Academy desperately wants popular movies to be part of their ceremony because … RATINGS. As it stands, ‘The Way of Water’ could easily compete in VFX, Cinematography, Production Design, and Sound. The top-tier categories (Picture, Director) will almost certainly depend on the critical reaction the film gets. Contribute Hire me

Advertise Donate Team Contact Privacy Policy