“Athena” currently has a 70 on Metacritic — not, by any means, an all-timer. However, this film could have very well have been France’s Oscar submission if it weren’t for its ineligibility due to Netflix. Thank the heavens Alice Diop’s “Saint Omer” took that spot instead. I wrote my “Athena” reaction on 09.09.22: I know Bilge Ebiri quite well and, although our tastes don’t always align, he sure as hell wouldn’t just throw hyperbole at a film. With that being said, Bilge just proclaimed Romain Gavras’ “Athena” as “one of the greatest films I’ve ever seen.” I caught up with “Athena” yesterday and I can tell you that I vehemently disagree with Bilge. The film is very flashy and obvious. Its opening scene, a no-holds-barred long-take, is magnificent, but it can’t sustain the momentum built up in the first 20 minutes. Gavras wants to operate on maximum intensity, and yet he forgets that you also need character development to keep the viewer invested. There’s virtuosity-galore in “Athena”, but little else. You’re left entertained and exhausted at the same time. Contribute Hire me

Advertise Donate Team Contact Privacy Policy